My kids have recently been hooked on Airmageddon,a kid’s TV show along the lines of Robot Wars but without the flame throwers and using drones instead of battle bots.

I was looking around the shops for some retail therapy after a reasonably stressful few days, and I found the Syma Nano X12S drone on sale for just under £20.

I’m a firm believer in equality, so the only fair way to make sure my kids could start on their road to Airmageddon Glory was to ensure that they had one each (even the 2-year-old! 😉 ) – I bought three, and this is what they look like out of the box:

2016-03-22 20.56.24

Next up was to build the course.

I had some artist’s foam-core board kicking around from a previous project so I decided to see what I could do with it.

The first step was to create a few legs, I did this by cutting 200mm squares from each end of one of the boards, giving me six squares in total:

2016-03-22 20.26.58

I cut 2mm x 70mm slots in the centre of the boards so I could slot them into the frames, then I cut the first large frame from the remainder of the first board and wrote a completely arbitrary score on the top of the board:

2016-03-22 20.39.33

I then repeated the process of cutting holes in a larger board, one smaller, one larger, and assigning higher scores to these smaller holes:

2016-03-22 20.39.23

Note that in both cases, I cut 2mm x 70mm slots in the frames to allow for a more stable fit.

The last step was to add the legs to the frames:

These looked good, but where was I going to launch from?

I took the centre cut-out from the first frame and drew a large X on it, then, colouring it in with the nearest red crayon I could find, turned it into a landing zone:

2016-03-22 20.27.33

I now had a landing zone and some targets – I was ready to fly, so I set up the course and gave it a go!

2016-03-22 20.56.43

It was a hell of a lot harder than I thought, so I’ll see how the kids get on with it and report back after the weekend!

UPDATE:

Well, we tried and it was significantly harder than either I or my kids imagined, but we had great fun doing it!

The most anyone managed to score was 60, however, within an hour, the girls could easily hover the quads and my plans are to make a more rigid (and possibly light-up!) course in the near future.

